Fine Wine for ≤ $9.99 – Cala Blanca Tempranillo

I think I’m in love.  Not with this particular wine, though it is quite good.  I mean with this wine maker.  You may recall that I reviewed Cala Blanca’s Monastrell last week and was quite smitten with it’s luscious, peppery deliciousness.  So I thought I’d give another one of its wines a try and, though it is a very different wine, it is every bit as good.

Cala Blanca Tempranillo - La Mancha, Spain 2009

This wine is from the land of Don Quixote, La Mancha, in central Spain.  But the wine itself is far from quixotic.  The bouquet is practically intoxicating on its own.  It’s a wonderfully subtle, playful blend of dark fruits and a floral scent that I’m not clever enough to discern.  It’s not quite lavender, but in the general neighborhood.  It smells wonderful.

It’s a very easy wine to drink.  Simple in the best possible way, not too bold, not at all tame, complex but not braggadocious.  All of the scents of the bouquet translate nicely into the mouth.  What you smell is what you get– the dark fruits and that mysterious floral flavor.  While it may not be as immediately striking as the Monastrell, I would a hard time choosing which one I actually like better.  They are both equally good for different reasons.  The Monastrell was very lively, the Tempranillo is very relaxed.  This has me very excited to try the other wines I’ve seen from this maker.

Purchased at BevMo for $8.70.  This is simply exquisite– the kind of thing that makes me reconsider some of my previous five-star ratings.  Because this may be better than some of those.  For now, I’m going to give it 4/5 stars with an asterisk.  If the other wines are as good, I may have found my new go-to winery.  Superior stuff, this.

Leave a comment

Filed under Wine

Leave a Reply

