House Calls

I’m down wit da sickness this weekend, dang it all, and while there are many things I would like to share, I am pretty much only up to lying in bed and passively absorbing the boob tube. Or boob Roku, I suppose. However. I do at least have a Youtube clip post in me.

As I was falling ill last night, I livetweeted a very strange film on TCM with other members of the Internet, and damn good times were had. The movie is called Hausu (House with a Japanese accent), it’s a Japanese horror movie, and you’ll find it in the Criterion Collection and your weirdest, way out nightmares. Where Ringu meets Scooby-Doo, where The Facts of Life meets The Evil Dead, that is the crossroads where whatever the hell this is should be staked and buried. But it’s definitely a must-see, possibly a must-own, and I highly recommend it.

I could attempt a plot summary here, but you wouldn’t believe me. So here’s the trailer. It is NOT subtitled, but I can promise you that in no way will affect your comprehension of the clip.

1 Comment

by | January 14, 2012 · 6:42 pm

One response to “House Calls

  1. Oh my fucking gods, where has this been all my life?!?!

Leave a Reply

