Film psychology THE SHINING: spatial awareness and set design. Parts 1 and 2

Spatial awareness is something that has always been completely intuitive for me. I could probably sit down and draw from memory the floor plan of every house or apartment I have ever lived in with a fair degree of accuracy. So I was naturally fascinated by this spatial breakdown of the set design of one of my favorite films.


How Stanley Kubrick used Escher-styled spacial awareness & set design anomolies to disorientate viewers of his horror classic The Shining. This is a must for serious Kubrick fans and psychology students. Written, narrated and edited by Rob Ager

Visit my website for more film and psychology related videos
http://www.collativelearning.com/

3 Comments

Filed under Art, Design, Movies

3 responses to “Film psychology THE SHINING: spatial awareness and set design. Parts 1 and 2

  1. I absolutely love his film analysis…did you see odyssey 2001 analysis?

  2. I haven’t seen the Space Odyssey analysis… I need to look at that…I bet it’s just as good.Thanks.

  3. I saw this a couple of months back on Dangerous Minds and it’s a pretty fucking amazing analysis. I’ve watched The Shining countless times and always loved the hotel but never really quite caught how purposefully disorienting it was. I also have not seen the 2001 analysis and it’s one of my favorite films of all time, along with The Shining and A Clockwork Orange.

Leave a Reply

